Book Review: The Darkest Star

Synopsis: 

When seventeen-year-old Evie Dasher is caught up in a raid at a notorious club known as one of the few places where humans and the surviving Luxen can mingle freely, she meets Luc, an unnaturally beautiful guy she initially assumes is a Luxen…but he is in fact something much more powerful. Her growing attraction for Luc will lead her deeper and deeper into a world she’d only heard about, a world where everything she thought she knew will be turned on its head…

 

The darkest star started off 4 years after the events from Opposition. This series is a spin-off  in the same world Armentrout’s best selling Lux Series and the story mainly revolves around Luc a reappearing character from the Lux series with an introduction to a new character Evelyn “Evie” Dasher.

I finished the Lux Series a long time ago and I was thrilled after hearing that J.L.A. was launching another series that involves super hot aliens and I immediately grabbed my own copy. I liked how the book started with getting to know Evie, her life and personality.  Luc for me was very interesting. I actually didn’t give a fuss about him from the last installment, but that changed after I finished the book. He had some share of secrets that made him vulnerable to everybody with the fact the he is and one of the strongest aliens. Some characters from the last series also had an appearance and I was ecstatic while reading their parts. However, I felt that It was quite repetitive from the original Lux Series.

I had some fair share of issues with this book. Even though at some point in my life I wanted the Lux world to be real and I am a fan of J.L.A. it’s a little too disappointing. Honestly, I did not like how J.L.A. molded some of the character’s personalities and I felt like it was copied and very identical from the last installment. There were prolonged and extended nonsense conversations that I pretty much dislike. The bantering was becoming absurd. Not to mention, I had a complicated relationship with Evie. She was annoying and somewhat becoming “Bella Swan stupid”. I hated how J.L.A. created her because I hoped that women should be portrayed as strong, logical and intelligent beings, not the exact opposite. Enough with damsels in distress who needs to be saved all the time. With all the rant I made, I still appreciate how the book explored the very vast Luxen world.

Overall, The darkest star was good with all new characters, a very captivating story line and even more action packed. I just hoped that there will be character developments on the next books.That’s why I only gave it 3 stars. However, I would definitely recommend this book if you want another glimpse of alien hotness.

 

–  Sushianna


credits to the owner of the photo

Leave a comment