BOOK REVIEW: A Court of Wings and Ruin

SYNOPSIS:

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.

As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords-and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

 

I read this book last May 11and finished it in 2 days. I even got a thumping headache after. I just had to read this book quickly and had to know what happened post ACOMAF. Even though it is not as better as ACOMAF I wasn’t able to sleep and eat while reading this.

So much had happened in this book; plot twists, character development and the world constantly changing. Most of the characters here are broken and healing. There’s just so much stress that couldn’t be easily handled. The inner circle pushing and trying to fight for what they cherish the most. Nesta was a revelation, given that she was a bitchy big sister towards Feyre she had a big part on this book. Tamlin whom I thought to be the lying two-faced bastard became the unsung hero in the end.

There are many progress with other characters. A part of me wanted Elain and Azriel to be together. On the other hand I feel like Cassian and Nesta are bonded on this book.

I loved the willingness of the 6 other courts to reach out and help defeat one of their greatest enemy, Hybern. At first, the other courts struggled to understand the intentions of the Night Court and there were misunderstanding that are yet to be settled. Thankfully, they settled in and focused on how would they retaliate Hybern’s threats and attacks.

The action on the last chapters were so intense. Many legendary Fae, monsters and even humans aided in their victory towards Hybern. The part that their allies are coming one by one with introduction, it was such an emotional moment for me.

I was expecting that someone would die on this book. I was literally sobbing when Cassian’s wings broke and Amren’s heroic act to defeat the forces of Hybern. and who would ever forget Rhysand’s selfless love to his kind and people. Sacrificing his own life to stop the cauldron’s destruction. That moment just broke me to bits and pieces.

*UGH I just love Rhysand*

I can’t conclude that this book had a happy ending especially that there are far more bigger threats in Prythian. But then again! Thank you Sarah, the series will continue.

Overall, I love this book. There were so many roller-coaster emotional moments and parts. If only I could give all the stars for this book, I would gladly do so. The only sad part is waiting for another year for the next book. I really hate waiting, the time the next book arrives I would’ve forgotten all that happened and start re-reading the series *sigh*. But like what they say, good things happen to those who wait.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

IMG_2245

Leave a Reply

